Solar Stage Children's Theatre Kickstart
Solar Stage Children's Theatre
Solar Stage 2014-2015 Season

Solar Stage is pleased to announce our 20th season of Children's Theatre!

Below is our 2014-2015 season with lots of old favourites and new faces! We are currently switching over to an online buying system and it is taking a little longer than we had hoped. Tickets will be on sale very soon! We thank you for your patience and your continued support. Please check back later this week or follow us on Facebook for up to date details!

If you are interested in booking a birthday party for one of our shows or would like to book a school performance, please call our box office at 416-368-8031 and leave a message as those options are only available by speaking to someone in the office.

The Shows

The Princess & the Pea

(Musical Comedy Play) Ages 3 - 10

Adapted by Derek Genova

Queen Bea wants Prince Tommy to marry a princess, but that means
growing up. Two princesses appear: Margaret, a Perfect Princess on paper;
and Kathy Lou, a Not-So-Perfect Princess in everything.
Who will be the best match for Tommy?

Dates: Oct 4, 5, 11, 12, 18, 19 & 25, 2014
Times: 11am & 2pm
Birthday Parties: Oct 4th at 11am and Oct 5th at 2pm are booked.
Available for all other dates.
School Shows: Mon Oct 6 (10:15am show is sold out, afternoon available), Wed Oct 8, Thu Oct 9, Fri Oct 10, Wed Oct 15, Thu Oct 16, Fri Oct 17, Mon Oct 20, Wed Oct 22 (10:15am - 70 seats remaining), Thu Oct 23 & Fri Oct 24.

Hallowe'en Howl

(Musical Puppet Show) Ages 3 - 8

By Alistair Ant Productions

Join Alistair Ant and his friends for a Hallowe'en party! Songs and audience interaction make this a puppet show not to be missed.
Website

Dates: Oct 26, 2014
Times: 11am & 2pm

Sing & Dance

(Music Concert) Ages 3 - 8

With Jack Grunsky

Juno award winner and long time Solar Stage audience favourite, Jack Grunsky is back with more music and fun for the whole family.
Website

Dates: Nov 1 2014
Times: 11am & 2pm

The Mask Messenger

(Mask Show) Ages 4+

By Faustwork Mask Theatre

Faustwork takes us on a journey of masks. This shows is filled with amazing original masks and characters but is also about the “masks” we wear everyday - how we move and what we wear. This international hit show will delight and amaze kids and parents alike.
Website

Dates: Nov 2 2014
Times: 11am & 2pm

The Adventures of Jillian Jiggs!

(Comedy Play) Ages 4 - 10

Adapted by Derek Genova

Jillian Jiggs liked to dress up and play, and this made a mess in her room every day. Join Jillian and her friends as they make pigs, play in the snow, chase a monster and put on a play all in the name of adventure. Based on the beloved children's books by Phoebe Gilman, this adaptation is great for the whole family.

Dates: Nov 8, 9, 15, 16, 22, 23 & 29, 2014
Times: 11am & 2pm
Birthday Parties: Available for all dates.
School Shows: Mon Nov 10, Wed Nov 12 (10:15am - 70 seats remaining), Thu Nov 13, Fri Nov 14, Mon Nov 17, Wed Nov 19, Thu Nov 20, Fri Nov 21, Mon Nov 24, Wed Nov 26, Thu Nov 27 & Fri Nov 28.

Shoestring Magic Flute

(Opera for Children) Ages 4 - 10

By Shoestring Opera

Based on Mozart's famous opera, The Shoestring Magic Flute tells the story of Allegra, who is lost in a dark forest on her way home from school. Enter Papageno, a feathered birdcatcher pursued by a Dragon and the fun, adventure and glorious singing begins.
Website

Dates: Nov 30, 2014
Times: 11am & 2pm

A Christmas Carol

(Interactive Play) Ages 4+

By DuffleBag Theatre

Get an early start to the holiday season with The Nearly World Famous DuffleBag Theatre as they present this classic story with an interactive twist. Fun for everyone!
Website

Dates: Dec 6 & 7, 2014
Times: 11am & 2pm

The Snow Queen

(Musical Play) Ages 3 - 10

Adapted by Derek Genova

Gerda and Kay are best friends, but they have an argument. Kay follows the Snow Queen to her Palace of Ice in the woods. Gerda must go rescue him - with the help of her friends a Reindeer and a Dove. Can love melt the Snow Queen's icy heart?

Dates: Dec 13, 14, 20, 21, 22, 23, 27, 28, 29 & 30, 2014
      Jan 2, 3 & 4, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm
Birthday Parties: Available for all dates.
School Shows: Mon Dec 15 (10:15am - 70 seats remaining), Wed Dec 17, Thu Dec 18, Fri Dec 19, Mon Jan 5, Tue Jan 6 & Wed Jan 7.


Map

Map to Solar Stage

Solar Stage Children's Theatre
4950 Yonge Street, Box 115, The Madison Centre
Toronto, Ontario, M2N 6K1
416-368-8031 • solarstage@bellnet.ca

Download a printable copy of the map: HERE


Facebook Twitter Email
The Shows

Rock Garden Party

(Interactive Musical Play) Ages 3 - 10

By little fingers music

SkaterDude is on his way to a rock concert, but winds up in the rock garden. He discovers Jack-in-the-Green and Earth Angel keeping the balance. City smog has created a terrible drought and SkaterDude must enlist the help of the audience to bring the rain through song, dance, and drum.
Website

Dates: Jan 10 & 11, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm
School Shows: Thu Jan 8, Fri Jan 9, Mon Jan 12 (10:15am - 70 seats remaining), Tue Jan 13 & Wed Jan 14.

Alex in Wonderland

(Play) Ages 3 - 10

Adapted by Derek Genova

Alex follows a White Rabbit to Wonderland; a world where up is down and in is out. Alex tries to remember who he is and meets a Caterpillar, a March Hare, a Mad Hatter, and a Cheshire Cat along the way. Will he be able to find himself and find his way home?

Dates: Jan 17, 18, 24, 25, 31 & Feb 1, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm
Birthday Parties: Available for all dates.
School Shows: Monday to Friday from January 19 to January 30, 2015.

Brick Bros Circus

(Puppet Circus Show) Ages 3+

By Puppetmongers

The Brick Bros. Circus is a complete, miniature one-ring circus, performed by highly trained building bricks in itty bitty costumes. See the acrobatic Bildovitch Family, the breathtaking Madame Brikaskova, the amazing Brick Contortionist and much much more! The whole family will love this acclaimed show that has toured the world stimulating imaginations of kids and grown-ups alike.
Website

Dates: Feb 7 & 8, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm
School Shows: Monday to Friday from February 2 to 6 and Mon Feb 9, Tue Feb 10 & Wed Feb 11 (10:15am - 70 seats remaining).

Anansi the Spider

(Play) Ages 3 - 8

By little red theatre

In Africa everyone knows about Anansi. Do you know about Anansi? Is Anansi a spider? Yes. Except when he looks like a man. He never changes his shape; it's just a matter of how you tell the story. Come celebrate Black History month with Little Red Theatre and their version of these classic African folk tales.
Website

Dates: Feb 14 & 15, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm

Memorable Munsch

(Play) Ages 3 - 10

Adapted by Bill Martyn & M. John Kennedy

We bring back our traditional and very popular series of Munsch stories presented in skillful and comic Solar Stage fashion.

Dates: Feb 21, 22, 28 & Mar 1, 7, 8, 14, 15, 21, 22, 28, 29, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm
Please note special times!
Feb 16 (Family Day): 10:30am, 12:30pm & 3:30pm
March Break: (Mar 16, 17, 18, 19, 20) 10:30am, 12:30pm & 3:30pm
Birthday Parties: Available for all dates.
School Shows: Weekdays from Tuesday Feb 17 to Friday Mar 13 and from Monday Mar 23 to Friday Mar 27. Please note: Thursday March 5 10am - 50 seats remaining; Tuesday March 10 10:15am - 70 seats remaining; Wednesday, March 25 is now sold out for both times.

Snow White

(Interactive Play) Ages 4+

By DuffleBag Theatre

The Nearly World Famous DuffleBag Theatre is back with another classic. Join us for some interactive storytelling - DuffleBag style!
Website

Dates: Apr 4 & 5, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm

Rocketbaby

(Play) Ages 3 - 8

By The Arts Engine

In space, no one can hear you giggle. When Dylan and Ruth receive a mysterious toy they embark on a gravity-defying journey to the moon and beyond. Can they find a way to make it back home? Will they be the same when they return?
Website

Dates: Apr 11, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm
School Shows: Wed Apr 8, Thu Apr 9, Fri Apr 10 & Mon Apr 13.

The Schoolyard Carmen

(Opera for Children) Ages 4 - 10

By Shoestring Opera

In this age-appropriate adaptation of the famous opera, Carmen is a feisty newcomer. When the “coolest kid in school” tries to bully her, she stands up to him. Set to Bizet's bewitching, infectious music, Carmen's flamenco dancing and the action-packed story are not to be missed!
Website

Dates: Apr 12, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm

The Spectacular Seas

(Blacklight Puppet Show) Ages 4+

By Puppets to Go

Puppets to Go takes us beneath the waves to reveal why the oceans, along with the exotic creatures that inhabit them, must be protected.
Please note: the theatre will be quite dark at times as this show takes place under the ocean (with the aid of blacklights).
Website

Dates: Apr 18 & 19, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm
School Shows: Wed Apr 15, Thu Apr 16, Fri Apr 17, Mon Apr 20, Wed Apr 22 (10:15am - 70 seats remaining), Thu Apr 23 & Fri Apr 24.

Elly's Emotions

(Play) Ages 6+

By Daley Productions

Elly's got a huge imagination and that makes her different. Elly might try to be like everyone else but her original side always seems to get the better of her. Is “being normal” really all it's cracked up to be? Solar Stage is proud to present this big hit from The 2014 Kids Fringe Festival.

Dates: Apr 25 & 26, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm

Beauty and the Geek

(Musical Play) Ages 3 - 10

By Nicholas Terpstra

Beauty and the Geek. Tale as old as...wait a minute! The classic tale gets a modern makeover. Will Beauty see past the Geek's nerdy ways and care about him for who he truly is? The story is full of delights for even the youngest audiences (and there's no scary Beast).

Dates: May 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, 17, 23 & 24, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm
Birthday Parties: Available for all dates.
School Shows: Mon May 4, Wed May 6, Thu May 7, Fri May 8, Mon May 11, Wed May 13, Thu May 14, Fri May 15, Wed May 20, Thu May 21, Fri May 22, Mon May 25, Wed May 27, Thu May 28 (10:15am - 70 seats remaining) & Fri May 29.

Bugs, Bugs, Bugs!

(Musical Puppet Show) Ages 3 - 8

By Alistair Ant Productions

Soli tries to help Rob overcome his fear of creepy-crawly insects. Can she do it before her friends the “Bungalow Bugs” come over to visit? Find out, in this musical sing-along about the insect world.
Website

Dates: May 30 & 31, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm

The Little Mermaid

(Musical Play) Ages 3 - 10

Adapted by Derek Genova

In this new spin on the classic Hans Christian Anderson tale Mermaid Princess Coral feels like no one listens to her so she gives up her voice and her mermaid tail for legs. Handsome Prince Hans feels like his deaf sister Helen needs him to take care of her but Helen is the only one strong enough to help Hans and Coral declare their love for each other and defeat the evil witch Crabella.

Dates: Jun 6, 7, 13, 14, 20 & 21, 2015
Times: 11am & 2pm
Birthday Parties: Available for all dates.
School Shows: Mon Jun 8 (10:15am - 70 seats remaining), Wed Jun 10, Thu Jun 11, Fri Jun 12, Mon Jun 15, Wed Jun 17, Thu Jun 18 & Fri Jun. 19.

Return to Top